The Superannuation Commission

As of 1 April 2017, the Superannuation Commission was established as trustee of the Retirement Benefits Fund (RBF), and oversees the administration of the RBF defined benefit schemes.

Two members of the Commission must be present to form a quorum at a duly convened meeting. Decisions of the Commission must be supported by a majority of the members present and voting. If there is an equality of votes, the person presiding has a casting vote. Full and accurate minutes of proceedings are kept for all Commission meetings.


Commission members as at 30 June 2017



Chair of the Superannuation Commission

Commission tenure: Chair since 1 October 2016

Experience and expertise

Current board positions include Macquarie Point Development Corporation, WINconnect Pty Ltd and the NSW Rural Assistance Authority.

Board and professional experience covers audit, governance, risk management, investment in bond and equity markets and financing complex projects in Australia and internationally.

Kerry has been a senior investment banker and commercial lawyer and is currently Managing Director, Copernican Securities Pty Ltd, a specialist firm established 1997 providing infrastructure finance, capital markets, pension and investment advisory services to the private and public sector.

In addition to a Masters in Law (Australian National University), Kerry holds management qualifications from the University of Lausanne and IMD, Switzerland and is currently a PhD scholar at ANU.

Leigh Mackey BA LLB

Commission tenure: Commissioner since 1 April 2017

Experience and expertise

Leigh is a partner of Hobart law firm Ogilvie Jennings and has been practicing law since 1992 when she was admitted to the Supreme Court of Tasmania and the High Court of Australia. Leigh specialises in injuries and compensation litigation. Leigh was a member of the RBF Board from 12 October 2015 to 31 March 2017.

Leigh is chair of the Tasmanian Air Rescue Trust, the legal member of the Work Cover Board and the Tasmanian Medical Board, Deputy Chair of the Parole Board, a member of the Tasmania Police Review Board and a lecturer in workers compensation at the Legal Practice Course.

Chris Bevan MAICD

Commission tenure: Commissioner since 1 April 2017

Experience and expertise

Chris Bevan started in the public sector in 1972 as a junior staff member within the Public Works Department. Chris then transferred to Forestry Tasmania in 1981 where he worked across the state in a range of positions (including Paymaster and Industrial Relations Advisor) until 2002 when he commenced his retirement.

Chris has been Chairman of the Workskills Board since 2005 and is the current President of the Tasmanian Association of State Superannuants (TASS).


The trustee of the Retirement Benefits Fund (ABN 51 737 334 954) is the Superannuation Commission (ABN 93 598 914 092).

This website is provided by Mercer Outsourcing (Australia) Pty Ltd (MOAPL) ABN 83 068 908 912, Australian Financial Services Licence #411980 on behalf of the Superannuation Commission ("Trustee") ABN 93 598 914 092 as trustee for the Retirement Benefits Fund ("Fund"). The Fund comprises the Contributory Scheme, the Contributory Scheme CPA, the State Fire Commission Superannuation Scheme, the Tasmanian Ambulance Service Superannuation Scheme, the Parliamentary Superannuation Fund and the RBF Life Pension.

Information provided on, and available from, this site does not constitute financial or taxation advice. The information does not take into account the individual objectives, financial situation or needs of any individual and we recommend that you obtain investment and taxation advice specific to your investment objectives, financial situation and particular needs before making a financial decision.

You should seek independent financial and taxation advice to determine if an investment is appropriate to your individual circumstances.

The Trustee pays a fee for the provision of this service however this fee is not conditional on you using this service or acting on the information or advice provided through this service.

Please read the Terms and conditions for further information about your use of this website.