The trustee of the scheme is PSS Trustees Limited. The current directors of the trustee are:

Charlie Cahn
Greg Fleming
Tim McGuinness
Ian Russon
Dave Trappitt
Charlie Cahn (Chairman)
Professional director

Charlie is a consultant and actuary with over 20 years’ experience in superannuation and investments as a trustee and adviser. Over that period, he has advised trustees on all aspects of superannuation, including funding, scheme design and investment strategy and has also held a number of trustee roles. He is currently a self-employed consultant. This follows a career most recently with PwC and before that Jacques Martin, which was then a specialist superannuation provider. Charlie is the longest-serving director of the PSS – appointed in 1994. He is also a director of the trustee company of the Methodist Church of New Zealand Supernumerary Fund.

Greg Fleming
Director (appointed by the Police Service Organisations)

Greg is the Police Association Advocate. He was the Association’s chief negotiator during the establishment of the Police Superannuation Scheme in 1992 and in subsequent changes including the cash transfer option introduced for Government Superannuation Fund members in 2005. Greg was appointed as a trustee in 1996. He chairs the scheme’s communications subcommittee.

Greg is based in Wellington and is responsible for the Police Association’s team of industrial officers.

Tim McGuinness
Professional director (appointed by the Commissioner)

Tim has held board and trustee positions with substantial New Zealand-based investment management organisations and funds for over 10 years. He has extensive financial market knowledge and experience built up through involvement with the management of investment funds, including senior executive roles, over 25 years.

Tim is currently Chairman of Trustees of the Dairy Industry Superannuation Scheme Trustee Limited and Fonterra Superannuation Scheme and is a director of the trustee companies of the New Zealand Fire Service Superannuation Scheme, the Police Superannuation Scheme, the Westpac NZ Staff Superannuation Scheme and the New Zealand Aluminium Smelter Superannuation Scheme.

He is a director of United Medical Benefits Society Limited. He was on the board of the Government Superannuation Fund Authority for 10 years (being Chairman for 3 years) and the Earthquake Commission for 8 years. He also has a number of other committee and consultancy roles in the financial sector. These positions followed senior executive and funds management positions with Royal & SunAlliance and Norwich Union/State Insurance over 15 years.

Ian Russon
BA Hons
Professional director (appointed by the Police Service Organisations)

Ian has had a long career in the financial services industry. Following periods working in the UK, Canada, Hong Kong and Germany, he joined the Financial Markets Department of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand in 1995, and held various management positions focusing on foreign exchange reserves management and monetary policy implementation.

In 2002, Ian joined Bank of New Zealand and, for the majority of his time at the bank, was Head of Financial Institutions & Public Sector. Ian also served as a scheme participant elected member of the board of management of the Bank of New Zealand Officers’ Provident Association – the staff retirement savings scheme.

In 2017, Ian resigned from the bank to work as a professional director. In addition to his role with PSS Trustees Limited, he is a director of UniSaver Limited, The Salvation Army of New Zealand Officers’ Superannuation Scheme Nominee Limited, Presbyterian Beneficiary Fund Trustee Limited and Implemented Investment Solutions Limited.

Ian is the scheme’s licensed independent trustee.
Dave Trappitt, ONZM
Director (appointed by the Commissioner)

The Commissioner appointed Superintendent Dave Trappitt as his representative on the scheme's then Board of Trustees in May 2012. Dave is the National Manager Communication Centres at New Zealand Police. In this role, he leads a team of senior staff based in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch. These three locations provide the emergency call answering service for members of the public and the command and control of Police staff via radio. This team is the initial point of contact for all non-emergency events and takes crime reports for subsequent district investigation.

Dave joined Police in 1975 and held a range of positions within general duties and CIB in Dunedin before moving to Police National Headquarters in Wellington to take up various roles, including National Manager Planning and Policy. He was Police Liaison Officer in Canberra until early 2012 and has acted as relieving District Commander in Dunedin and Wellington.

Contacting the trustee

You can contact the trustee through the scheme secretary, Robyn Doherty.

Street address: c/o Aon Hewitt, Level 3, State Insurance House, 1 Willis Street, Wellington 6011
Postal address: c/o Aon Hewitt, PO Box 2764, Wellington 6140
Phone: (04) 819 4056

This website is provided by Mercer (N.Z) Limited on behalf of the trustee of the Police Superannuation Scheme (PSS). The trustee pays a fee for the provision of this service, however this fee is not conditional on you using this service or acting on the information or advice provided through this service.

PSS Trustees Limited is the issuer of the Police Superannuation Scheme (PSS). A copy of the PSS product disclosure statement is available under Documents and forms and at