Benefit information

EISS provides different benefits depending on when you joined the Scheme, and which Division you joined.

All parts provide benefits on retirement, resignation, death and permanent disability. Most provide a benefit on temporary disability as well. Follow the links below to find out more about your Division.


Which division am I in?

The Scheme is organised into four divisions. The division you belong to depends on when you became a member.


Accumulation division

This division is open to anyone who joins now or others who joined after 2000. Your spouse may also be eligible to join this division.


Defined benefit divisions

There are three defined benefit divisions within the Scheme for people who joined before 1999. Find out more about these divisions.


Lifetime pensions

Members of the Pension Scheme have access to a lifetime pension on retirement after age 55 or invalidity.


Account based pensions

If you leave employment after reaching your preservation age you can transfer a lump sum into an income stream account. You can also start a Transition to Retirement Pension if you are still working after reaching your preservation age.



EISS provides you peace of mind when you aren't able to work due to illness or injury. Find out about your options.


Electricity Industry Superannuation Board ABN 57 923 283 236 as Trustee of the Electricity Industry Superannuation Scheme.

This website is provided by Mercer Outsourcing (Australia) Pty Ltd (MOAPL) ABN 83 068 908 912, Australian Financial Services Licence #411980. The Trustee pays a fee for the provision of this service, however this fee is not conditional on you using this service or acting on the information or advice provided through this service. 'MERCER' is a registered trademark of Mercer (Australia) Pty Ltd ABN 32 005 315 917. Copyright 2016 Mercer LLC. All rights reserved.